Excuses

Excuses.

This is a good post on Anger, could help but to re-blog it since the post does speak my mind.  I want to note, depression is closely related to anger however many people who are labeled with depression are not walking around stating they have anger issues. The post does a great job in linking Anger with Excuses.

Excuses

I often try to avoid the mainstream media, because it generally infuriates me beyond reason or recourse.

Today, while staying home from work, sick and feverish, I came upon some news articles that, once again, upset me greatly. It is rarely the topic of the articles that upset me, although they are generally quite upsetting. It is more often the subtle judgments delivered by the author as to human motive that truly upsets me.

One such newsworthy event was entitled “McClintic said she had anger issues hours before Tori Stafford was killed”. I really do not want to get into the details of this disgusting murder story, but the point of this particular article appears to be that the alleged murderer has admitted to having anger issues, even up to the day of the murder.

Why am I bothered by this? Does it upset me that nobody reached out to this woman, when she was obviously calling out for help. No, that’s not it. Does it upset me that nobody noticed that she was a ticking time bomb? No, not that one either.

What truly upsets me about this article and its headline is the underlying assumption that some people can have anger issues, while others don’t.

Excuses. I really don’t like excuses. I can handle mistakes. I can accept being wrong. I can live with the occasional disappointment. But excuses will be the death of us all.

I have anger issues. You better watch out. I yell a lot. And stomp my feet. Because I have anger issues. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. Don’t be surprised when I act like a fool. Don’t expect me to apologize when I hurt you. I have anger issues. You have been warned. I can’t control myself. It is who I am. I have no choice in the matter. I have anger issues. You wouldn’t understand. You have never seen the suffering I’ve seen. I earned my anger. And now I will spread it to all those around me. Because I have anger issues. How dare you challenge my right to my anger. Now I will really show you how angry I can get. See, I told you. I have anger issues. I wish you hadn’t pushed me to prove it to you. But then again, I have anger issues. You knew that from the start. It is your own fault that you woke the beast. I am not responsible. I have anger issues. You were warned.

Hmmm… It is true, I am sick and feverish and probably shouldn’t be blogging.

We need to wake up and realize that we all have anger. That does not give us the excuse to express it. It is the exact opposite. Our anger is a challenge. We have a responsibility not to express it. But to learn from it and harness it for higher purposes. Anger is like any other excuse. We tell it to ourselves because we are afraid to hear the truth. The Truth is that we are, all of us, striving for Perfection. But that is a very scary thing to have to live up to. It is so much easier to just make excuses. Especially if your track record so far is less than perfect. The thought of admitting that you have dedicated your entire life so far to a lie, is too much for most to bear. So instead we become the lie, so that it is no longer a lie. We become the anger. We become the lust. We become the greed. We become the hatred. We become the fear. And all of sudden, the excuses become the root of who we are.

So, what’s my excuse. I am a lover. I can’t help myself. It is who I am. It is what I do. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. When you stumble, I’ll stop to help you up. When you yell, I will sit and listen. I will not judge you. I will not point a finger. I have love issues. You have been warned. No matter what you give to me, I will give love back to you. I will laugh with you. I will cry with you. I will hold you. I will point you in the right direction and smile as you walk away, in pursuit of your Love. I have love issues. What can I say. It makes little sense. I get little out of it. But I enjoy it. I like love. I like spreading love. I like seeing that look in people’s eyes. I like surprising people with love. I have love issues. I do not expect others to understand my motives. I do not expect others to care. I just expect to be allowed to live in Love. You have been warned. I am love, and here I come.

One thought on “Excuses

  1. Pingback: Understanding the Source of Anger | YOU DECIDE

Comments are closed.