Does Overload Equals Depression

I remember a number of years ago my older brother said:,  “if I have to much on my plate I get overloaded and end up not getting anything done”.  I really don’t remember anymore what made him make the statement. I do remember I was in my early teens and really didn’t understand the correlation.  Actually it took me a very long time to understand his statement and I just realized in the past 3 years what a paralyzing effect it can have on someone.if they overload themselves, struggling with depression and have lost the structure and order in their life.

However, having a full schedule can be healthy and invigorating for someone who is struggling with depression if the schedule has the needed structure and order.

Until my father passed away, I really didn’t understand depression nor did I feel depressed at any time.  Maybe it was also that during college and then later during the early years in my career I was so busy I didn’t have any time to think about much of anything.  Or better said, didn’t take the time.

After my father passed away and I had lost  my job I have had for almost10 years, ever since I finished college.  I couldn’t motivate myself to do much of anything.  I was seriously depressed.  All I did was sit around worrying about how I was going to pay my bills, what was going to happen with my career, where will I be 10 or 20 years down the road. The more I tried to motivate myself to do things, such as working out, cleaning house the more depressed I gotten because I just kept adding things to my to- do list.

The thought was, now that I”m unemployed I have the time to do XYZ. I made my bucket list and my wish list.  Things that had been in the back of my mind for years that I wanted to do or have or experience were brought front and center.

Now I had time to do them but I didn’t have the money. So, all I did was sit in front of my PC applying for jobs.  There were days I emailed out over 50 resumes.  I applied for every job there was out there and nobody called me back. I was just tumbling down the rabbit hole faster and faster.

Finally after starting behavioral therapy I ended up getting a better understand about depression as a whole and the therapy helped me to bring structure and order back into my life.  Getting back into the routine of getting up early, getting a little workout in and routinely going through the things you had listed on you to-do list for the day give you the feeling of accomplishment at the end of the day.

5 thoughts on “Does Overload Equals Depression

  1. I agree. For me though, depression is only a small part of the problem. Once I became disabled and couldn’t work anymore, I felt useless. Like life was over. Like feeling like crap every day was my future. Maybe I am depressed or just unhappy. I try to get shit done but I feel exhausted at all times. Lack of energy. At least you found something that works for you. Me, um still looking. Great post and I well presented.

  2. I definitely see a connection. I learned pretty early on in my journey out of depression that one of the most important tools is having the perfect balance between being busy and being relaxed. At different times in my life, the balance is different, though. Gotta go with your gut.

Comments are closed.