Being Argumentative

 

These days I’m juggling three jobs.  So far I’m doing well I guess as long as my co-workers don’t accuse me of being argumentative.

So here is the synopsis of the situation which accrued this afternoon.

I was schedule to work from 9-1 for an outside event today.  I worked an indoor event yesterday and one of my co-worker’s who was schedule to work the outside event joined me, stating the event was canceled.  In return I was offered to work the indoor event today if I wanted the hours since they were offered to me prior.  A kind gesture since event workers, usually do not get such options.  If an event is canceled the event workers usually just don’t get the option to pick up the hours elsewhere.

I arrived at 10am and a co-worker was supposed to start at 11am.   At 11:20 I saw her moseying down the alley in such speed that a snail could pass her, stating “sorry for cutting in front of you but I’m in a hurry today”.  She arrives at the booth stating “I’m not late. I arrived at 10:55am but had to wait for the manager to get me the pass to get in”.  I said: “They usually let you in if you tell them which vendor you are working”, thinking she wasn’t aware of this handy trick.  She said: “yes but I needed a parking pass as well”.  So I said: “there is vendor parking”, again thinking she doesn’t know about the vendor parking after all I didn’t know about it for nearly six month.  She said she didn’t want to talk about it further. Then she told me about the outdoor event for which she was schedule and didn’t know that it was canceled due to the weather but she will make the company pay for her driving time and gas.  To which I replied that the other co-worker knew about the cancelation and that she had worked with me at the indoor event the day before.  At this point she told me that I’m way too argumentative and she didn’t wanted to talk to me about it any longer and that the company has a responsibility.

I was stunned.  I really didn’t think I was being argumentative.  The again one can argue that I was since I didn’t agree with her.  Still I thought the information I gave her would help her the next time. I guess I need to point out that the manager who had to drive into town to bring her the parking and entrance pass has been doing the job of two people since one of the marketing people had resigned and no replacement has been put in place.  Plus the company nearly pays double what other companies pay their event workers.  Maybe subconsciously I thought she was being difficult and maybe I have a higher appreciation for the job and company then she does.

In return there was a rather uncomfortable air after she had accused me of being argumentative.  I guess it is also my shortcoming for not being able to engage into little small talk after her accusation.

Still it all worked out to my benefit.  I called the manager and asked if I could leave since I really wasn’t assigned to the shift at this event and the shift only required one person.  The manager agreed and I was able to go to the Genghis Khan Exhibition.  I had to stand in line for 1.5 hour. Still waiting was enjoyable since I had a really great conversation with the lady in line behind me.

This is not that great of a post but I had to get it off my chest and now I don’t feel so argumentative.  There is something said about Blog Writing Therapy.

2 thoughts on “Being Argumentative

    • Thank you, a friend emailed me earlier, stating argumentative isn’t really a bad thing, it can mean you have an opinion, you’re not some luke warm of a person. Again, there is something said to blog writing therapy and to reaching out for different views and opinions. Again, Thanks

Comments are closed.