Quantifying Happiness

About 2 month ago a friend of mine posted a day trip to the Penn Plantation.  First, I was excited and thought it was a great idea.  However, all through last week I was wrestling with myself if I should really go.  It would be a rather long drive.  I’ve been tired all week.  Not because I was working a lot, far from it but because for some reason I can’t get it in my schedule to drink enough water.  I kept looking at my to-do-list trying to make excuses for not going; however since I had agreed to go, I gotten up at the crack of dawn and placed my tired self in my car.

It was a beautiful morning I enjoyed the drive and Penn Plantation.

Even though it was a grueling drive back, back home I looked at my to-do-list and started to check a few things of.  Now at the end of the day, I ended up having accomplished more then I initially set out to do without going on this day trip.

Habits and attitudes are hardwired along well-established neural pathways. At times we need to give ourselves a push to actually get what we want.  I think that also applies to happiness.  I haven’t really figured it out but I don’t think happiness, even though it’s humanity’s most desired emotion, just doesn’t happen by itself.

While cutting-edge science and research are paving the way to greater understanding of our emotions, it seems there is still something to be said for just having a good day, because you got up and did what you set out to do and some.

2 thoughts on “Quantifying Happiness

  1. so true, sometimes I find myself uninterested to go with my friends, even if I haven’t seen them for the longest time. I don’t know why. But I push myself too and at the end of the day I’m glad that I spend some time with them.

  2. Thank you for the follow. I find your blog inspiring and look forward to reading more of your entries. I find it’s difficult to push myself, as well. When you’re trying to bear such chronic pain every day, whether physical or emotional, no wonder we have no interest or are constantly rethinking things, “what if”, etc. But when we do get ourselves out there, sure, it may not be easy, but we sure won’t be regretting it. Sending well wishes.

    Kate

Comments are closed.