Structure and Order

Last night as I reviewed my notes for tomorrow and cleaned up my desk before going to bed, I remembered the comment Albert Einstein made; “If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?”

As noted I’m not the first who contemplates this matter, I find myself in rather good company. In addition, this blog post provided something opposite to popular beliefs.

To me, a clean desk represents order, it represents structure.

Mythology and the fairytales we grew up with provide the reoccurring theme of order and structure.   Even throughout history every town, every fortress was build with the surrounding walls which kept what was supposed to stay in, “in”; and what was supposed to stay out, “out”.  One can argue humankind evolved with a sense and need for structure.  To what level depends on the individual.

I have a friend, functions well in her orderly environment, with lines in the carpet and plastic on the chairs.  Another friend of mine lives in total disarray, clothes scattered throughout the house one can barely walk without stepping on something.  Both of my friends do well in their structured or lack of structured environment however their partners are plagued an array of psychological problems.

Too much order makes you ill; lack of order does the same.

In order to conquer whatever psychological problems one is struggling with; is it depression, anxiety, overeating, whatever it may be.  One may needs to step back, define their sense of structure and what their threathhold of structure is in order to live in a somewhat metal comfort zone.

